Community

“I’m giving myself permission to post whatever the hell I want, so I can just get past the internal gatekeeper slash critic who prevents me from using the one space on the Internet that is entirely mine.” – Will Wheaton

From his blog which you can find here.

I have started many blogs and they have fallen by the wayside because I either tried to follow what seemed like good advice about being a niche voice, or I was trying too hard to come up with brilliant posts.

And I forgot that this place on the internet is entirely mine.

Rather, I hope that it is entirely ours.

Back in July of 2016, I got a new job at a place that highly values community and I was like “Ok, sure. Community is good. But I’m here to do a job.” I very quickly learned just how important community is and the difference it could make. It’s not just a good thing for a blog or an author or readers. It’s THE thing. It is exactly what I want for this blog.

So please join me here in this space, and know that you are welcome to feel at home here. I hope to foster a little pocket of community where we can explore and get excited about many things, have fun, educate one another, etc.

I’ll admit I don’t really know how to do that yet, but I’m going to be thinking about it a lot in the next few weeks. If you have any suggestions on ways to make this space more welcoming and more community oriented, I would love to hear from you.

Excited to build this space together.

Leave a Reply

