The Hidden Blog Every Writer Should Know About

I call it hidden because it is no longer being updated, and thus, you probably won’t be able to stumble upon it easily. If you do, you probably won’t know what you have found. If you’re anything like me, finding another writing blog but then seeing that the last post was in 2011 and is called “Hiatus” would make me close that browser tab as quickly as I unfollow people who post political debates on Facebook.

But it’s jam packed full of writerly goodness. Pimp My Novel was written by a guy, Eric, on the inside of the publishing business. He gives the dirty (& clean) details of what happens after a book is acquired.

Screen Shot 2015-04-22 at 9.07.44 AM

An oldie but a goodie

I kept seeing Eric appear in the comments of Nathan Bransford’s blog, who was an agent at the time, and thought “wow. He knows a lot. I wish I could get his perspective.” Then Eric started PMN and Nathan proudly announced it on his own blog. The two were an unstoppable team that felt like a college course in how to get published. I wish, I WISH there was a PMN equivalent that was still live, and I WISH Nathan was still an agent. (Though Nathan’s blog still has many posts worth checking out. He still keeps his eye on the industry.)

If you read nothing else over at PMN, read the Profit & Loss 4-part series. Want to know about the spreadsheet publishers use to determine sales projections and whether or not they should offer you a book contract? You can read about it there.

PMN may be outdated in some of its posts (like the analysis of genre sales and which trends are happening in publishing), but I prefer to think of it more as a time capsule.

It was written when eBooks were newer and we weren’t sure how they were going to affect the publishing industry. (Well, ok, we’re still not sure but we’re a lot less worried about it….I think.) His blog posts didn’t even have pictures! That wasn’t part of blogger 101 back then. Pictures were optional and he didn’t need them because his content is so meaty.

Also? The community that the blog created is still a treasure trove. The comments on some of the posts are as informative as the posts themselves. The guest posts are written by great people who have gone on to shape the publishing industry in their own ways. And it makes a great story. I kind of want PMN to be put into children’s book form so that someday I can read it to my children/budding writers: the story of publishing.

It will help you understand the publishing world’s recent history. Knowing where it came from can help you when you feel lost and don’t know where it’s going.

Hope that helps a bit! You probably could have stumbled across PMN by trolling the archives of Nathan Bransford’s blog (which you do, right? ‘Cause you need to), but I figured it couldn’t hurt to point it out.

Leave a Reply

