Camp NaNoWriMo Ate My Blog

6a00d8341c630a53ef013488af5745970c-800wi

 

It’s been almost a month since I posted, but I have a good reason: I’ve been writing a novel. In one month. Or at least trying to.

Thanks to Camp NaNoWriMo, I’ve been writing a lot this past month. There are still 4 days to do and I have written almost 70,000 words. (At an average 250 words per page in an average book, that’s about 280 pages.) My goal is 90,000 words, so I still have a ways to go.

Besides getting a lot of writing done, by far the coolest thing about Camp NaNoWriMo is the cabin I was placed in. They are active, they are inspiring, and they are totally beating me in word count. After years of writing more than my fellow writers and winning almost every word war, it’s nice to meet a group of people that surpass and challenge me. To give you an idea, most participants write 50,000 words in a month and consider it a challenge. I aim for 70k or 80k. Most of my cabin mates are aiming (and are in reach of) 100k, double the usual goal. They are also in completely different time zones, and somehow we still manage to meet online for word wars (set amount of time in which two or more opponents write as many words as they can).

So sorry for the silence in the blogosphere. My small voice has probably not been missed too much, but I sure have missed you! I’ll let you know how the end of Camp turns out, then hopefully get back to blogging normally. ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “Camp NaNoWriMo Ate My Blog

  1. Zen A. says:

    Congratulations on winning! 70k is quite a terrific word count. I’m actually envious. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Been so long since I wrote so much in a short amount of time.

Leave a Reply

