I finished writing my book!

furniture-finish-00After many drafts, I’m daring to call my book finished. It’s been sent off to my beta readers for advice, and then I’ll start going on submission with it. It’s all very exciting!

Actually, it’s not ALL very exciting. I feel a sense of loss now that the project is “over”. I mean, I’ll always be tweaking it here and there, making it better, but not in the way that I was. I used to be able to chug tea and sit with my novel for hours, working to make it better. And at the end of those hours, the progress would be noticeable. But now that it’s finished, I can’t do that anymore. I’ve been over every scene and paragraph, and made decisions about why each word should be there. Going back over it means questioning those decisions and rehashing things I’ve already made up my mind about.

I’m contemplating starting a new book in April for Camp NaNoWriMo. We’ll see how that goes.

Thanks to everyone who agreed to read my novel and tell me what they think. You are awesome and honest, and I can’t wait to hear from you in a few weeks. Also, thanks to TeaSource for all those highly caffeinated hours of chugging tea.  🙂

Leave a Reply

