Bears in the Woods pop-up card

I modified Yamaha’s Mountain Trekking pop-up card for my husband’s birthday. We’re big into bears, and I took him camping for the weekend, so that was the tie-in with the theme. In between the back two layers I tucked a birthday message that said “You’re older but I can bear-ly tell!”. {You’re allowed to groan.} Replacing the motorcycles with two bears was the hardest part of making this card.

Since I didn’t want to spend a lot of time cutting out all the pieces, and I have my shiny new Silhouette cutting machine, I converted all the images into traced silhouette files. I spent hours trying to fit all the pieces onto as few pages as possible in my Silhouette program with print marks. I was unable to find a more efficient arrangement than five pages. {Don’t know why I spent so much time trying to figure it out. In that amount of time I could have cut all the pieces by hand!}

Putting them together was a little tricky, and not all of the bear pieces fit perfectly. I still need to tweak the design before I use it again {or post it on here}. Still, my husband loved the card and everything cut out smoothly. This was a lot of fun to make!

There they are, those cute little bears.

Here’s the front and back:

One thought on “Bears in the Woods pop-up card

Leave a Reply

